

the place to live

MINUTES OF THE HEARING OF SUBMISSIONS COMMITTEE MEETING

Held on Thursday 23 May 2019

Released to the public on Monday 27 May 2019

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TRADITIONAL OWNERS AND ABORIGINAL AND TORRES STRAIT ISLANDER COMMUNITIES IN DAREBIN

Darebin City Council acknowledges the Wurundjeri people as the traditional owners and custodians of the land we now call Darebin and pays respect to their Elders, past, present and future.

Council pays respect to all other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities in Darebin.

Council recognises, and pays tribute to, the diverse culture, resilience and heritage of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

We acknowledge the leadership of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and the right to selfdetermination in the spirit of mutual understanding and respect.

Table of Contents

ltem Number

Page Number

1.	PRESENT	.1
2.	APOLOGIES	.1
3.	DISCLOSURES OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST	.2
4.	CONFIRMATION OF THE PREVIOUS HEARING OF SUBMISSIONS COMMITTEE MEETING	.2
5.	CONSIDERATION OF REPORTS	.3
	5.1 PROPOSED ANNUAL BUDGET 2019-20	.3
6.	CLOSE OF MEETING	.5

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE HEARING OF SUBMISSIONS COMMITTEE OF THE DAREBIN CITY COUNCIL HELD AT DAREBIN CIVIC CENTRE, 350 HIGH STREET PRESTON ON THURSDAY 23 MAY 2019

THE MEETING OPENED AT 6.02PM

WELCOME

THE CHAIRPERSON, MAYOR RENNIE OPENED THE MEETING WITH THE FOLLOWING STATEMENT:

"NGARRGMA WURUNDJERI KULIN MIRAMBEEKAL BIK WENEROP DAREBIN BAGUNGBUL ARWEET DHARRO BA GANGOOKAL NANGGIT BAMBUTH BA YALINGBU.

I WOULD LIKE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE TRADITIONAL OWNERS AND CUSTODIANS OF THE LAND ON WHICH WE STAND HERE TODAY, THE WURUNDJERI PEOPLE, AND PAY MY RESPECTS TO THEIR ELDERS, PAST AND PRESENT, AS WELL AS TO ELDERS FROM OTHER COMMUNITIES WHO MAY BE WITH US TODAY."

1. PRESENT

Councillors

- Cr. Susanne Newton (Deputy Mayor)
- Cr. Susan Rennie (Mayor) (Chairperson)
- Cr. Gaetano Greco
- Cr. Steph Amir
- Cr. Kim Le Cerf
- Cr. Trent McCarthy
- Cr. Lina Messina
- Cr. Julie Williams (6.19pm)

Council Officers

Vito Albicini - General Manager Operations and Capital Ingrid Bishop - General Manager Governance and Engagement Cathy Henderson - General Manager Community Rachel Ollivier – General Manager City Sustainability and Strategy Allan Cochrane – Manager Finance Kyle D'Souza – Business Support Accountant Karlee Ferrante - Council Business Officer Mahesha Rohitha - Council Business Officer Bhasker Mehta - IT Service Desk Officer

2. APOLOGIES

Nil

3. DISCLOSURES OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Nil

SUBMISSIONS COMMITTEE MEETING

Committee Decision

MOVED: Cr. T McCarthy SECONDED: Cr. J Williams

That the Minutes of the Hearing of Submissions Committee Meeting held on 13 May 2019 be confirmed as a correct record of business transacted.

CARRIED

5. CONSIDERATION OF REPORTS

5.1 PROPOSED ANNUAL BUDGET 2019-20

Author: Finance Manager

Reviewed By: General Manager Governance and Engagement

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

At its meeting on 8 April 2019, Council resolved to give public notice of its intention to adopt the proposed Annual Budget 2019-20 at a meeting of Council to be held on 24 June 2019.

Prior to adopting the Budget in its final form, Council placed the Proposed Budget on public display inviting submissions by Thursday, 9 May 2019 with any person requesting to be heard in support of their written submission to be heard by Council's Hearing of Submissions Committee at 6.00pm on 23 May 2019.

Eighty-five submissions were received by the closing date for submissions including twentynine submitters requesting to be heard in support of their written submission. An additional three items providing feedback on the budget were received after 9 May 2019.

The community submissions in total are requesting an estimated \$30.60 million (\$24.93 million for capital works projects and \$5.67 million for operating projects).

Following the Hearing of Submissions Committee meeting, a report in relation to all submissions received will be submitted for consideration at the meeting of the Council scheduled for 24 June 2019.

The following people spoke in support of their written submissions and were thanked by the Chairperson, Mayor Rennie:

- David Toscano (submission #2)
- Emily Hughes (submission #37)
- Ms Anne Doyle on behalf of Susan Mabilia (submission #3)
- Indy Lingham (submission #4)

Bhasker Mehta, IT Service Desk Officer temporarily left the meeting during the above submission at 6.12pm.

- Theo Tsouras (submission #5)
- Kingsley Smith (submission #7)

Ingrid Bishop, General Manager Governance and Performance temporarily left the meeting during the above submission at 6.19pm and returned at 6.21pm.

Marcia Lewis on behalf of Louise Tinney, Jane Miller and Marcia Lewis – (submission #11)

Bhasker Mehta, IT Service Desk Officer returned to the meeting during the above submission at 6.23pm.

- Annette Duves on behalf of Anne Richie (submission #12)
- Bo Li (submission #25)

- Graeme Hamilton (submission #25)
- Thomas Harris (submission #32)
- Russell Hoye (submission #47)
- Cr. Messina temporarily left the meeting during the above submission at 6.37pm.
- Tim Lonergan (submission #47.1)
- Cr. Messina returned to the meeting during the above submission at 6.41pm.
- Tracy Pearman (submission #49)
- Frances Trimboli (submission #52)
- Ken Whiteman (submissions #53 and 60)
- Angie Davidson and Leanne Collins on behalf of Chris Dureau (submission #59)
- Keith Coffey (submission #61)
- John Nugent (submission #62)
- Simon Clarke (submission #66)
- David Taylor (submission #70)
- Sophie De Lesanti on behalf of Melanie Welch (submission #73)
- Adrian Whitehead (submission #75)
- Suki Styant-Browne (submission #76)

Cathy Henderson, General Manager Community left the meeting at the conclusion of the above submission at 7.19pm.

• Chris Lombardo on behalf of Catriona Herz – (submission #57)

Cathy Henderson, General Manager Community returned to the meeting during the above submission at 7.20pm.

Committee Decision

MOVED: Cr. T McCarthy SECONDED: Cr. J Williams

That Council:

- (1) Receives and notes the written and verbal submissions.
- (2) Thanks all submitters and presenters for addressing the Committee in support of their written responses.
- (3) Refers all submissions for further consideration to the Council meeting to be held on 24 June 2019 as part of Council's deliberations in the adoption of the Annual Budget 2019-20.

CARRIED

6. CLOSE OF MEETING

The meeting closed at 7.26pm.

CITY OF DAREBIN

274 Gower Street, Preston PO Box 91, Preston, Vic 3072 **T** 8470 8888 F 8470 8877 **E** mailbox@darebin.vic.gov.au darebin.vic.gov.au が National Relay Service relayservice.gov.au

If you are deaf, or have a hearing or speech impairment, contact us through the National Relay Service.

184	.70 8470	
العربية	Italiano	Soomalii
繁體中文	Македонски	Español
Ελληνικά	नेपाली	اردو
हिंदी	ਪੰਜਾਬੀ	Tiếng Việt

Speak your language