Climate Emergency Darebin Advisory Committee

Climate Emergency Darebin advisory committee provides advice and feedback to Council in the implementation of Council’s Climate Emergency Plan.


The purpose of this Committee is to provide advice and recommendations (where appropriate) to Council in relation to:

  • climate emergency leadership, specifically around the impacts and opportunities for the Darebin community
  • achieving and implementing climate and energy strategies and actions in the Council Plan
  • rapid community emissions reduction including advice on large and community scale renewable energy and other zero emissions technologies
  • ongoing development and review of policies, strategies and plans especially those that directly and indirectly impact the Darebin community around the climate emergency
  • developing programs relating to Council priorities such as: climate risk, fuel poverty, resilience, adaptation, mitigation and protection of those communities most impacted by climate change
  • developing and delivering Council’s Climate Emergency Plan promoting the work of Darebin’s climate program
  • effective and appropriate engagement with Darebin’s diverse community on climate issues
  • advocating to relevant external authorities to ensure action is taken to create a safe climate for all.

The Committee shall have regard to and act in accordance with Council’s strategic objectives and priorities. Specifically, the Committee will have regard to the following strategies, plans, frameworks, policies and plans

  • Community Vision
  • Council Plan 2021-2025
  • Towards Equality: Equity, Inclusion and Human Rights Framework 2019-2029
  • Statement of Commitment to Traditional Owners and Aboriginal and
  • Torres Strait Islander People

Specific Council strategies, frameworks, plans and policies relevant to this Committee

  • Climate Emergency Plan 2017-22
  • Watershed: Towards Water Sensitive Darebin 2015-25
  • Darebin Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Action Plan 2017-2021
  • Waste and Recycling Strategy 2020
  • Transport Strategy
  • Breathing Space: Open Space Strategy

Terms of reference

Council at its meeting held on 25 October 2021 adopted the Terms of Reference of this Committee.

Composition and membership

This Committee comprises Councillor(s) appointed by Council annually and a Council Officer nominated by the Chief Executive Officer (both non-voting) and any other persons, and representatives of organisations as determined by resolution of Council and as specified in Appendix A.

All Advisory Committees will sunset on 30 June following each General Council election, unless they have been re-established in the new Council term or the work of an Advisory Committee has been completed prior to this date.

Specified members of Committees (excluding Councillors) shall be appointed to a Committee for the term specified in Appendix A. All appointments will be for an initial period of 2 years with the option for a further maximum period through to the 30 June in the year following each General Election upon re application.

Committee will have two Councillors and maximum of ten community members representing the diversity within Darebin’s community.

  • two from the Traditional Owner as well as Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities
  • two from Darebin’s culturally and linguistically diverse communities
  • two with specialist climate expertise – could be technical or other
  • two with community expertise – community leadership, community engagement, advocacy etc
  • two people between 16 to 25 years

A Councillor shall be the Chairperson of the Committee with a nominated community member as Co-Chair.

Presently, Committee comprises of the following Councillors/members:

Nominated Councillors

Cr. Trent McCarthy (Chair)

Cr. Susan Rennie


This Committee comprises of the following members:

Uncle Charles Pakana , Uncle Owen Butler, Stacie Piper, Jay Peluso , Karen Large, Katia Rotar, Julie O Brien, Steph Rich, Quimby Mills, Blair Trewin, Shervin Tosif, Arzu Yilmaz, Laura Nix


Meetings of this committee will be held quarterly unless determined by the Committee Chair and Council Officer in order to allow for the timely consideration and provision of advice to Council on particular, time-sensitive matters from time to time.

Committees may, with the approval of the relevant General Manager, meet more frequently on a limited and specific basis (if required).

The meetings will be closed to public.

More Information