Active and Healthy Ageing Advisory Committee

Informing Council on issues that influence services delivered to those ageing in Darebin and report on the Darebin Active and Healthy Ageing Strategy.

The Active and Healthy Ageing Advisory Committee is a formal advisory body to Darebin City Council.


The purpose of this Committee is to provide advice and recommendations (where appropriate) to Council in relation to:

  • Issues, policies and drivers that influence services delivered to residents ageing in Darebin.
  • The implementation of Age Friendly Darebin Activities.

The Committee shall have regard to and act in accordance with Council’s strategic objectives and priorities. Specifically, the Committee will have regard to the following strategies, plans, frameworks, policies and plans:

  • Community Vision
  • Council Plan 2021-2025
  • Towards Equality: Equity, Inclusion and Human Rights Framework 2019-2029
  • Statement of Commitment to Traditional Owners and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People
  • Towards an Age Friendly Darebin
  • Darebin Access and Inclusion Plan

Terms of reference

Council at its meeting held on 25 October 2021 adopted the Terms of Reference of this Committee.

Composition and membership

This Committee comprises of Councillor(s) appointed by Council annually and a Council Officer nominated by the Chief Executive Officer (both non-voting) and any other persons, and representatives of organisations as determined by resolution of Council and as specified in Appendix A of terms of Reference.

Specified members of Committees (excluding Councillors) shall be appointed to this Committee. There can be maximum 12 members (unless Council determine otherwise including one representative from the aged care, research or learning sectors). This number excludes Council officers. All appointments will be for an initial period of 2 years with the option for a further maximum period through to the 30 June in the year following each General Election upon re- application.

A Councillor shall be the Chairperson of the Committee.

Presently, Committee comprises of the following Councillors/members:

Nominated Councillors

Cr. Gaetano Greco (Chair)
Cr. Julie Williams (Proxy)


This Committee comprises of the following members:

Amanda Tan, Lis Devries, Eric Black, Nalliah Suriyakumaran, Marion Harper, Raymond Cocking, Dulcie Hook, Karen Bruce, Dianna Pais,
Peter Byrne, Cindy Bux, Marika Bosinova, Win Stenton, Nicholas Nicholaou, Geoffrey Richards


Meetings of this committee will be held quarterly unless determined by the Committee Chair and Council Officer in order to allow for the timely consideration and provision of advice to Council on particular, time-sensitive matters from time to time.

Committees may, with the approval of the relevant General Manager, meet more frequently on a limited and specific basis (if required).

The meetings will be closed to public.

In 2021, the Committee will meet on on Thursdays, between 4.00 pm and 5.30 pm, on the following days:

  • 11 March 2021
  • 10 June 2021
  • 9 September 2021
  • 9 December 2021

More Information

Community Engagement Officer
Phone: 03 8470 8828