Darebin Gender Equity Advisory Committee

Providing strategic advice and a gender lens on issues, policies, programs and services for Council on issues affecting gender-diverse communities.

This committee was formerly known as the Darebin Women's Advisory Committee.


The purpose of this Committee is to provide advice and recommendations (where appropriate) to Council in relation to:

  • Issues affecting women and gender-diverse communities in the City of Darebin.
  • Providing a gender lens on issues, policies, programs and services.
  • Promoting and advocating for equality and social inclusion of all women in the Darebin community and in particular, women experiencing compounding forms of discrimination.
  • Raising awareness and promoting understanding of issues and barriers to equality affecting women and gender diverse people in the City of Darebin

Women refers to people who identify as women. This recognises that sex and gender are not the same and that some people’s gender identities may not reflect the biological sex they were assigned at birth. Moreover, this recognises that gender is not binary and that some people’s gender identities may not fit into binary categories of male or female and indeed that some people may identify as neither male nor female, or both.

The Committee shall have regard to and act in accordance with Council’s strategic objectives and priorities. Specifically, the Committee will have regard to the following strategies, plans, frameworks, policies and plans:

  • Community Vision
  • Council Plan 2021-2025
  • Towards Equality: Equity, Inclusion and Human Rights Framework 2019-2029
  • Statement of Commitment to Traditional Owners and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People

Specific Council strategies, frameworks, plans and policies relevant to this Committee:

  • Gender Equity & Preventing Violence Against Women Action Plan 2019-2023
  • Darebin Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Action Plan 2017-2021
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Employment Strategy and Action Plan 2017-2027

The Committee supports Council in meeting its obligations under the Gender Equality Act 2020, and monitor Council’s progress and provide feedback on the implementation of the Gender Equity and Preventing Violence Against Women Action Plan 2019-2023.

Terms of reference

Composition and membership

This Committee comprises of Councillor(s) appointed by Council annually and a Council Officer nominated by the Chief Executive Officer (both non-voting) and any other persons, and representatives of organisations as determined by resolution of Council and as specified in Appendix A of terms of Reference.

Specified members of Committees (excluding Councillors) shall be appointed to this Committee. Maximum number of community committee members can be 12 (excluding Council Officers). Membership will comprise of:

  • At least one nominated woman Councillor
  • Up to twelve community members representing the diversity of Darebin women

All appointments will be for an initial period of 2 years with the option for a further maximum period through to the 30 June in the year following each General Election upon re- application.

A Councillor shall be the Chairperson of the Reference Group.

Presently, Committee comprises of the following Councillors/members:

Nominated Councillors

Cr. Emily Dimitriadis
Cr. Susan Rennie (Proxy)


This Committee comprises of the following members:

Megan Burke, Melissa Collins, Zelda Harper–Balsamo, Carmen Lahiff-Jenkins, Sandra Morris, Felicity Rorke, Anna Scovelle, Jo Van Dort, Rosa Vasseghi, Amanda Wilczynski, Samantha Young, Emily Fraresso, Leanora Spry, Diana Pais


Meetings of this committee will be held quarterly unless determined by the Committee Chair and Council Officer in order to allow for the timely consideration and provision of advice to Council on particular, time-sensitive matters from time to time.

Committees may, with the approval of the relevant General Manager, meet more frequently on a limited and specific basis (if required).

The meetings will be closed to the public.

More Information

Gender Equity Officer

Phone: 03 8470 8553
Email: diversity@darebin.vic.gov.au